Background FT8 Remote via SmartLink and SmartSDR for Windows

Background FT8 Remote via SmartLink and SmartSDR for Windows

If you spend long hours desk-bound like I do, your thoughts may also wander to the question “Could I make some QSOs during work?

Back in SmartSDR v1 days I started with a Raspberry Pi VPN using a Maestro during lunch hours. Those phone (SSB) QSOs were pretty few.  Fist I had limited time and then if staff knew I was in the building they had things to bring to my attention, which is hard to manage when you are also in QSO!

With v2 adding SmartLink things became a bit easier, but it really took waiting until DAX was SmartLink aware to unleash some background operations!

Running WSJT-X with SmartSDR (with CAT and DAX) I’m able to clock up anywhere from a few handfuls of FT8 QSOs to a hundred or more a day, while working.

The programs run on the same desktop.   The only demand focus when they need attention – logging a QSO or restarting transmissions.

Lets figure a day harvests 50 QSOs. Divided over my typical work day the programs would interrupt me about once every 10-12 minutes. I’ll stay and work through my lunch hour for the exchange, so it is a win all around.

There are times where the FT8 QSOs have to be turned off – if I am reviewing documents or doing personnel reviews. But if I am doing routine paperwork the interruptions are not unwelcome.

I’m logging about 200+ extra QSOs weekly running background FT8. I don’t think I could do my work justice trying to do any more, but in theory based on the Saturday I operated while doing catch up reading while keeping FT8 statistics, a 120 QSO/day rate is very reasonable.

At the 50/day average, based on four days/week that is an extra 10,000 QSOs yearly. At a more drive 80 QSOs per day rate for five days a week the extra QSOs mushroom to 20,000 more QSOs per year.

Now is it worth it? What is an FT8 QSO really worth?

Looking at any FT8 QSO from the vantage point of a good solid SSB contact – perhaps one where I broke a pile up to get another all time new one (extra country) or had a great rag chew – well an FT8 QSO is less satisfying.

On the other hand that same FT8 QSO is a QSO I otherwise would have never made, and when looked at from the “no QSO at all” viewpoint the FT8 QSO is pretty neat.

Sort of reminds me when someone in basic training was issued a Lima Bean C-Ration and then started moaning about it. Most troops didn’t like the Lima Bean rations and whined hoping they would somehow get another ration or work a trade.

When they realized that we ALL got Lima Beans and there were no other rations suddenly they would eat their unfavored ration as their alternative of going without was worse.

Just like the understanding that you could end up with no rations made the Lima Bean C-rations palatable, the understanding that you could have zero QSOs makes the FT8 QSO something special.

Now I am still somewhat undecided if an FT8 QSO deserves a QSL Card.  I’m pretty sure I will send out cards when requested by some, but in the air whether to send one out unless there is that request.  Suddenly that extra 200-300 QSO done as FT8 Background QSOs would require a whole lot of clerical time – more than I really have available.  Thinking about this issue.

73

Steve
K9ZW

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.