On the Mend and On the Air, a bit

Seems the meds are helping, not like any instant cure. Rather much symptom relief and helping the natural process along.

At the stage where fever comes and goes. The harshest parts of high fever, body aches, headaches and complete fatigue is hopefully behind.

This morning the XYL knocked on the bedroom door asking if I wanted breakfast. We had found our “sickie quarantines in the master bedroom suite” was a solid stopgap when Covid would hit us. So we’re doing the same with my Influenza A as well.

I asked her for something comforting, so poached eggs on bean on toast (dinklebrot toast actually) was breakfast.

As I am feeling better enough to want to do something, I’d started running FT8/4 QSOs on an iPad and was doing MRC (a BBS text chat) on an old Chromebook.

Recovery station well equipped

About that “comfort food?” Being British born and raised, my wife created a breakfast in the English tradition.

That I had bought a small case of favored more tomato flavored (flavoured?) British baked beans for her probably started things off. Then the English like poached eggs a lot. Somehow they get tastier eggs too. One type I think called “Cackleberry” is like egg-artistry.

Then the English like to make open face sandwiches putting lots of things “on toast.” I wonder if this harkens back to to when food might be served on a “trencher

I’ve had SmartSDR for iOS since it was launched, but had really only used it on the iPad for SSB when traveling.

Since I still have a sore throat and bouts of coughing, it has been pushed into digital mode running FT8 and FT4.

SmartSDR for iOS in FT mode

Really a nice implementation and matches up well with my flu reduced attention span. Made just under 100 QSOs so far.

Marcus Roskosch DL8MRE has done an exceptional service building his SmartSDR app. I’ve met Marcus in passing at Hamvention, and am very appreciative of being able to do radio while so solidly under the weather.

As this has taken a silly amount of time to type it has confirmed that while better than Friday, I still have a ways to go to be well.

73

Steve
K9ZW

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.