Non-Radio – Car Outing May 19th 2024

What an unusual driveway collection of cars for Wisconsin!

Had been invited to a French car meet-up in Southern Wisconsin. Really more focused on Citroen cars.

I couldn’t take the very new to me CX Prestige, as its paperwork & plates haven’t been issued.

So I had intended to drive my CX Pallas Automatic, as it is a pretty plush ride, nicely air conditioned and shows very well.

Well Murphy was up to mischief as the battery of the CX Pallas had gone flat and was refusing to take a charge. Of course I didn’t discover the problem until the afternoon before the car event, so little chance of replacing the troublesome battery and having the car ready to go early the following morning.

So we drove the CX Athena 5-speed instead.

The later 2.0L engine in the CX Athena is very drivable and does well in traffic. Very easy car to drive, and would be even easier if I was a more coordinated manual transmission driver. Like am I ever rusty on a manual.

The CX Athena is the only CX of my three that lacks air conditioning and additionally needs a serious audio system upgrade. I also do not trust the fuel gauge, as it was inoperative when I got the car and I wasn’t certain my repairs efforts were sound.

On the road at seven AM, it wasn’t long until the day heated up and windows were cracked open. Yes Murphy was going to deal us some hot weather.

Our route was mostly Interstate with a chunk under serious road construction at Milwaukee.

Stopped once during our 2-1/2 hour drive to the meeting, as I’d forgotten to bring something to drink on the hot weather in a no air conditioning CX Athena drive. And I just wanted to stretch my legs after running the Milwaukee road construction obstacle course!

Held a a Citroen owner’s vacation home on west end of Lake Geneva Wisconsin (Fontana on the Lake), my CX joined four DS models, an SM coupe, a 2CV, two Renaults, a couple non-French cars and a rare Matra-Simca Bagheera sports car.

One of the Citroen DS attending (American headlights)

Renault Alliance Convertible – built in Kenosha Wisconsin

My 1981 Citroen CX Athena

A 1973 Citroen SM with European headlights and an updated Maserati engine

Citroen DS with the earlier single headlight setup

Citroen DS with the European headlights

Citroen DS with Italian market lights

At the back is a 2CV Dolly, a red Mercedes that came to look, and the Green “le Car”

1976 Matra-Simca Bagheera

Before I left to return home one of professional mechanics attending pointed out my tires were low on air and he filled them up with a small compressor he had. Many thanks Mark!

Not only did I miss the low tires, but with the late switch in cars I realized I hadn’t done a full proper pre-trip inspection. Thinking of doing a checklist just like I used with my planes, just as a reminder to self.  Also putting together a travel box with some of the things I forgot like a first aid kit, fire extinguisher, extra special fluids & bulbs, and so on.

My CX Athena Dash at the end of the day’s run

Did some calculations and the trip with a couple side trips my wife requested covered 369 miles/584 km. Averaged some decent American motorway speeds for about two-thirds of the distance. Calculated fuel burn (no-ethanol premium fuel) was 26.35 miles per US gallon (8.88 L/100km). Thinking with better driving, more efficient speeds and properly inflated tires there would be a few mpg to pick up next time.

Great day out, great people and great cars!

Oh, about that Murphy Factor – the CX Pallas’s battery decided to take a charge while we were away for this meet-up, as apparently my automatic charger initially hadn’t recognized the battery as chargeable or some such nonsense.  Charged now and tests good.  Guess I was meant to drive the CX Athena to this meeting!

73

Steve
K9ZW

Tagged , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.