Commodity vs Exclusive Operating Styles

Churning and Burning through the Bands vs a Zen-like single QSO operating style?

Commodity vs Exclusive Operating Styles are some of the different ways people get on the air.

Commodity or “volume production” operating style is all about banging out as many contacts as you can during limited on air operating time.   Commodity operating expects calling CQ when not in a QSO.

Exclusive style is more about listening/watching for “that one station” you want to contact.  When not in QSO your station largely is in receive mode hunting for the prize.

When I work remotely, influenced by controls being less handy and often multitasking, I am truly a Commodity operator.  It is almost like being in contest mode for me.  Next, next, next, gasp a second of non-communication – quick call CQ….  and repeat.

On the quiet moments when I am usually running SSB I can get closer to en Exclusive operator, but never without a conscious effort to “settle down.”

Which type of operator are you and can you switch between different modes of operating?

Thinking adaptive operators can end up happy operators more often. Ham friends tell me this often.

it is also fun to change it up.

Hoping people tell me how they approach operating and the exercises they use to be flexible and happy!

73

Steve
K9ZW

4 thoughts on “Commodity vs Exclusive Operating Styles

  1. Kuby, N6JSX/8 says:

    Yup, ya got me…. I’m ying to your yang. I QSO for a purpose not for numbers. Never been a contest’er.

    However, since 2019, my on-air time has been cut to almost zero; then in 2023, I found WSJT-FT8/4 that let me QSO without talking/thinking. I did not have to focus on a QSO chat topic just making the contact. In 2019, I require medication that gives me bad side-affects, fatigue/mind-fog, making HAM’ing a chore.

    Exclusive style is more about listening/watching for “that one station” you want to contact. When not in QSO your station largely is in receive mode hunting for the prize.

    Steve, your analysis seems to be more about our personality traits that drives our HAM’ing methods?

  2. kf9vv says:

    I am a CW oriented op who goes through different phases of primary focus. Main energy targets have been rag chewing, contesting and POTA.

    Since late fall rag chewing has been getting most of my effort. But, I do dig the other aspects and do find myself doing some contesting and POTA while being rag chew centric.

    Even within rag chewing, there are opportunities for some sub areas to focus on. The RV season started for me two weeks ago. On the current trip I have been using a 40 Meter QCX, matching amp and an inverted V for late afternoon QSOs. The idea is it will give me some regional contacts as we travel. This past week I enjoyed from NW Mississippi nice rag chews with stations in Alabama and Arkansas that way.

    I think of myself as a CW omnivore that will chase what ever moves me or is in season. It keeps me fresh.

    Jim KF9VV

  3. Bas PE4BAS says:

    I have no problem switching between different styles of operation. Although I have a hang to exclusive style especially if interesting DX can be heard. 73, Bas

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.