Planning a few US Island Activations

Planning a couple sets of US Islands activations (https://usislands.org/)

I’ve done some promotion with the Lakeshore Amateur Radio Service Club but no takers so far. Usually club members like to join in, but don’t like to commit too far in advance (lest their XYLs decide they have other plans, I guess?)

Tom K0TCC have had plans to do some activations around Washington Island (WI-001L) which last year got set aside because we both were really busy. Hopefully they will take place this season. Pretty certain we will make it to a few of the islands. Additionally my smaller boat is now ready, so within safety limits I could do some of these islands on my own.

I’d identified, registered and previously activated island that could be driven onto, with the idea that then less able club members of the old ManCoRad club (absorbed into the Lakeshore Amateur Radio Service Club) could activated, and hoping to get Rob N9LVU out to do at least one of those islands as a re-activation. Rob N9LVU has had a pretty rough 2023-24 with health, and maybe doing these activations would encourage him to upgrade to General or Extra class. If I am allowed to use one of the club callsigns, these would be a bit more fun I think.

More as plans firm up.

73

Steve
K9ZW

Tagged , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.