A Valentine’s Unexpected Treat

Getting over the flu precluded my personally delivering a valentine treat to my mother, who is in a nursing home. I wasn’t even fit enough to venture out to buy my usual chocolate box for her either.

So my wife arranged for a box of excellent chocolates with a couple helium balloons, delivered by a local event/flower shop.

The delivery was the unexpected treat for my parents, as it happened while my father was visiting my mother.  He makes the trip to visit mom daily, spending as many pleasant hours together as they can.

Well, it seems the delivery team sang for each person they delivered to.

Like SING in – hey even though I have a Hollywood Star as a singer, I will sing a Valentine just for you, sort of singing!

The lead was Tony Batala from The Lettermen!

Tony has local connections, family & friends, and frequently graced our local performing art theatre with The Lettermen when they could fit Manitowoc into their schedule.

For many years he was married to an older sister of one of the guys I went to high school with.

How Tony became the day’s troubadour is unknown, but I have a very thrilled mom as a result.

BTW Tony is the same age as my parents.

73

Steve
K9ZW

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.