A simple Flex-6600M Station – a K9ZW backup Station

My simple Flex-6600M station at work[/caption]I’ve long wanted some HF capabilities at my work QTH. Now I have a simple station up and running.

Work had donated the use of a 56 ft tower to a now defunct local radio club a few years back, and as part of that club being absorbed by another radio club I personally acquired the associated repeater and the incomplete HF capabilities.

The club had put up a Cushcraft R-7000 40m-10m vertical on top of the tower above the repeater antenna.

I now have it fed with LMR-400, interrupted by a commercial grade lightening suppressor, into a small workshop area I personally have had set aside for many years.

Since I am on a commercial business site, the lightening and grounding provisions are quality, and all the work was done to commercial standards by a communications/automation electrical contractor work uses. Looks pretty impressive for an amateur station.

In the end I needed to supply a power supply, the Flex-6600M, and Rigrunner (4005) for power distribution, power cables and a ground strap.

Here is snapshot of the simple station:

The radio is setup for SmartLink, so I can now access it along with the old home QTH station (while it is still running) giving me some choices.

73

Steve
K9ZW

2 thoughts on “A simple Flex-6600M Station – a K9ZW backup Station

  1. Kuby N6JSX says:

    Nice touch having work gloves in the Pic….

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.