Why We Sync & Back-Up – Well Why We Should!

Our Disaster Recovery Plan

The iCard I sent much of the mailing list of my regular correspondents pretty well says it all:

iCard_Busted

Basically in the midst of typing the MacBooks stopped responding and made a couple very small noises like breaking glass internally.

Would guess the new Hard Drive failed. I had a large drive fitted into my MacBook just a few months ago by our area Mac dealer.

In the morning it was it dropped off at the Apple Dealer and I am wait for the news.  I’d like to have it for my Dayton trip, but if be can drag my other (XP) laptop.

As a Dot-Mac user the automatic Sync system does have a full clone of my email (excepting those emails stored ONLY on the Macbook) , my Addressbook, my Calendars, Bookmarks and possibly more.

There are some projects that may have disappeared, if the Hard Drive is not recoverable. I’ve been lax about sending copies to my iDisk for web backup.

It is likely that about 30 drafts – ranging from outlines to pretty well developed ready to post articles – all intended for this blog may be gone.

If they are history, it will give me a chance to redo them – hopefully better!

After Dayton I’ll investigate more automatic ways to backup the hard drive on the Macbook. Having to physically hook up an external USB drive and do a backup is too easy to forget or put off.

More when I learn it!

73

Steve
K9ZW

One thought on “Why We Sync & Back-Up – Well Why We Should!

  1. k9zw says:

    News is in – the oversized Hard Drive I had upgraded to was mechanically DOA.

    The good news is it is under warranty and in a couple hours I can it up with a new drive.

    Tonight, overnight, I’ll let it run migrating from my desktop Mac (a Mac Mini) which will restore most of my programs.

    A couple runs of software update, some configurations and the restoration from iSync should get me 95% there with little pain.

    On the plus side is I should be rid of masses of system debris & orphans on the new drive.

    73

    Steve
    K9ZW

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.