Flex-6700 Fantasies – “Dreaming What Might Be!” Series

Planning in a few weeks to have another first hand look at the Flex-Radio Flex-6000 series radios at the W9DXCC Convention in Illinois.

Flex-Radio Flex-6000 Series

Flex-Radio Flex-6000 Series

As advertise on the W9DXCC Website:

Greg Jurrens K5GJ, VP of Sales and Marketing for FlexRadio Systems, will bring us up to speed on the latest developments in Software Defined Radios. FlexRadio Systems was the first to market SDR radios to radio amateurs, and has just recently introduced the innovative Flex-6000 with SmartSDR.

Ok, what does that mean – another look & drool session, or something meatier?

Unlikely to learn much until I see Greg K5GJ there.

But one can imagine, dream and scheme can’t one?

Reading the Flex-Radio literature, Insider newsletters and reflectors there is one massive amount of promise to this new radio an architecture!

I’d like to touch on a few items that have caught my eye, and what I imagine they might offer for the future of amateur radio.

Be absolutely certain I am speculating, I have no extra insight or sources (nor would I betray information given to me in confidence) and I am doing analysis based on what it out there.  I’m going to have fun speculating what might be.

Putting some guesses and construction to the pieces of information over the next few weeks, we’ll see if I guess right on anything announced at the W9DXCC or later when radios ship.

I’ll try to get a thought out every few days in the lead-up to the W9DXCC Convention and then an assessment in the week or so directly after the event.

I’ll link them to this “Flex-6700 Fantasies – “Dreaming What Might Be!” Series” starter and again in the wrap up.

73

Steve
K9ZW

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.