Adding a BIG Microphone – Shure SM5-B in the Shack

One the issues I face as an a phone operator is I have a naturally deep bass voice that doesn’t play all that well on the radio for DX or Contesting.  So I’ve been working to help that Broadcaster’s/Ragchewer’s voice into something that works better in the pile-up.

Through Bob K5JIL I was able to obtain the “Unobtanium” – an exceptional Shure SM5-B microphone.  These out of production microphones are prized by professionals and are often priced out of the ham radio operator’s budget, if they come up second hand at all.

Following Bob K5JIL’s very helpful instructions I picked a NOS Behringer Mixer/Amp to interface the Shure SM5-B to my Flex-6700.  My son Winston KC9FVR was super helpful digging out patch cables to get this all working.

The results have been exceptional!   During the mid-November ARRL SSB Sweepstakes I had numerous stations break from the pattern of exchanging reports to comment on the excellent audio.  A session working George W9EVT in fairly lousy band conditions helped tweak a DX configuration that seems to be doing the trick!

I know that it isn’t in every ham’s budget to do a microphone & mixer like this, and I am truly grateful to have the privilege of good gear to help in my efforts in the amateur radio hobby.

Winston KC9FVR also helped figure out the cables needed to put the Wohler AMP1A-LP speaker on line, which is really nice.  I typically wear a boomset, but with the quality speaker as an option it is a lot more “sociable” in the shack when anyone else is in the shack (a small room originally intended as a wine cellar.)

I have figured out the expensive part of the better microphone and speaker though, I already want to duplicate the setup at the Northern QTH on Washington Island!

Hope to hear you on the air!

73

Steve
K9ZW

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Adding a BIG Microphone – Shure SM5-B in the Shack

  1. Kuby says:

    Since you are into changing your mic audio characteristics to a higher pitch to cut through all the QRM/N have you evaluate the W2IHY Audio Equalizers or the cheaper MFJ-655?

    I sport Heil Gold Elite and MC-60’s – I always get good full audio reports so I’ve not got into a need for any mic equalizing. But then again when I get excited (or frustrated) my voice pitch goes up anyway – most people then cringe and seek escape.

    • k9zw says:

      Have two sets of Julian W2IHY’s audio processing gear.

      Not using them with the FlexRadio 6x00s as SmartSDR does a decent percentage of what the outboard gear does, though I do use them with other gear. They are excellent and both Julian and his brother are good people. Very much enjoy talking with them.

      BTW as I use their gear with other radios I consider it to be permanent station components.

      73

      Steve
      K9ZW

Leave a Reply

