K9ZW Home Station Redesign Project

After a fabulous weekend out at the Chicago W9DXCC event, I’ve knuckled down to get my operating area redesigned. With new gear unopened in the box, some dating back to the Dayton Hamvention in 2012 and 2013, it is overdue.

First I am whittling down the gear I will keep “Action Ready,” making a list and populating the list with known sizing, weight and access needs. Here is the list as I am working on it:

K9ZW Home Station.pdf

I’ve measured the target area and existing bench work. Howard KY6LA corresponded about the ham radio adaption of the FleXy audiophile rack system he has been using, which will be the model for my under-desk and bench-top additional shelves.

In concept the station design is three radios selectable via Julius W2IHY switch gear. Radio 1 is the Flex-6700, Radio 2 the Flex-5000A and Radio 3 a TenTec Jupiter. I am ignoring the Collins S-Line station as it is pretty well self-contained and takes up too much room to co-locate with the other radios.

In addition to the list room needs to be found for basic VHF/UHF operations. Still thinking about this, as I am almost never on VHF/UHF.

Those who have followed my station development might recall that my operating position is one end of a small room originally intended to be our wine cellar. It isn’t time yet to move the station as two of the boys are staying with us while they attend university classes, so we still have a pretty full house and driveway.

Also I think I can reasonably expect to be able to remote at least the Flex-6700 if limited to within the coverage of our router, perhaps by Dayton 2015. So at that time I may well do more operating from my correspondence desk in the library area of our house than continue to hide out in the wine cellar!

Next step is to do some rough CAD sketching to fit & locate everything before I build the FleXy shelf units. Going to try for sketches by the end of the week.

73

Steve
K9ZW

Tagged ,

One thought on “K9ZW Home Station Redesign Project

  1. RE: “How do you get enough physical ports to plug in all your stuff?”

    I wonder if you have considered connecting hardware to the LAN via the Ethernet switch. I use Saelig RS-232-to-LAN Boards:
    http://www.saelig.com/miva/merchant.mvc?Session_ID=78293f589ab5a345d7231617cc32fd78&Screen=PROD&Store_Code=SOS&Product_Code=BRD013

    I use Tactical Port Redirecting Software:
    http://www.tacticalsoftware.com/virtual-serial-port-redirector/serial-ip.htm
    which gives everything a virtual com-port via the Saelig Boards.

    This way EVERYTHING is accessible via the LAN and outside the LAN. Almost all of my radios and accessories such as my SPE Linear Amp; Power Master Watt Meter; SteppIR Controller; AT-AUTO TransMatches; FTdx9000D; FTdx50000; FT-897; some other Icom radios, etc., are hooked up to a Saelig RS-232-to-LAN board. Each board will handle two IP addresses and Ports. This way, I can run remote from work without a PC in the way.

Leave a Reply

