Hellschreiber – that Fuzzy Mode

K9ZW as received at KX5JT

K9ZW as received at KX5JT

Hellschreiber remains on my favorite mode list.

Simple, ticker-tape style, retro, steampunk… all are said to apply to the Hellschreiber mode.

The Flex-5000A does Hellschreiber well – https://k9zw.wordpress.com/2008/12/02/flex-5000a-does-hellschreiber/ – though this time I was using fldigi for the digital program.

Several years ago I put together a longer piece on exactly what Hellschreiber is: https://k9zw.wordpress.com/2008/08/04/repost-hellschreiber-about-the-mode/

Thank you to KX5JT  for sending me the screen shot  of his end of our QSO.

Hope to catch you on Hellschreiber!

73

Steve
K9ZW

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Hellschreiber – that Fuzzy Mode

  1. Sam says:

    I am delighted to see the term “steampunk” used in a ham context! Had my first Hell QSO the other week after hearing a signal on 40m I didn’t recognize, scrolling through my fldigi mode menu, and suddenly seeing CQ CQ CQ de RW6AU crawl into the screen. Hooked. Thanks for the post and the links. 73, 9N7AK/K0YAK

Leave a Reply

