Random Comments Good Books, Good Focus and Good Vibrations

Another mix & match batch of ideas. Perhaps these come from having many things afloat & in my attention at the moment.

On the Good Books side of things, I do continue to post most of my reading at GoodReads – LINK URL http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/2272032 It must be a personal admission that I “consume books” finding them the most cost & time effective way to gain knowledge, travel vicariously, and share the artistry of the Novelist & Poet.

I’ve been privileged to recently read several books penned by authors who I either know from school, know through shared family & friendships, or I’ve met through Amateur Radio. Recently I was in a high end steakhouse the other side of the country from home, out for a business event, when a song a friend had produced when the original team didn’t come through came on, reminding me of how in this big big world we do all somehow interconnect. Seeing & hearing friends’ works succeed is awesome!

As my home state goes from positive national media from the Super Bowl and hometown features in Forbes & USA Today, while traveling this week Wisconsin went to International Media Attention with the Budget Protests at the State Capitol. While my neighbors are panicked that this casts Wisconsin in a bad light, and see out right eager to put all the blame on partisan politics, the truth is this is the healthiest thing that could happen – Hard Issues are being worked out in the public spotlight. The present state administration is weeks old, obviously inheriting the deficit, and to their credit they are putting it to the people in a big way. Tensions are running high, but the level of engagement of the common man – the man on the street – in the issues offers hope, a welcome contrast to the apathy & smoke-filled rooms deals that created the problem. Well that the people take ownership in the process!

Amateur Radio has had to take a backseat during my last rounds of travel. Since the beginning of the year I’ve been briefly to Phoenix, Denver, Las Vegas, and quite a number of Wisconsin cities. As I travel I have found that a few Amateur Radio web-presences stand out – the free magazine at World Radio LINK URL http://www.worldradiomagazine.com/ and lovely newsletter the “K9YA Telegraph” LINK URL http://www.k9ya.org stand out. I still listen to This Week In Amateur Radio International (TWIARi) though they have been updating podcasts infrequently LINK URL http://www.twiar.org/international.html

On other Podcasts I’ve recently whittled down those I download to a very small selection – I find it takes too long to listen compared to reading the same material. Several high quality content podcasts are so ponderous that the only reason I stay subscribed it to get a reminder to check for show notes.

Musically my desk when working after hours typically is streaming Classics & Jazz from one of several French Internet radio stations, as I admire their choices in music and perhaps am less bothered when spoken word interrupts having somehow perfected an ability to ignore spoken word when it isn’t English.

I’ve been very impressed with some Amateur Radio internet happenings – a friend seems to have remoting his Flex-5000 to a fine art currently on an Apple iPad. I do need to meet up with him and learnwhat I can on this great effort. The new Release Candidate of PowerSDR looks promising, as does the intensive Macro features that can be added in. A lot to look at and play with!

I did miss the TJ9PF DXpedition through travel. A couple times a year there are really neat DX events that I miss – guess that will help keep the hobby a long-term one for me!

Anyone in 9-land interested in helping get a W9 Summits On The Air (SOTA) group started? I have the groundwork done, but reality is that I cannot take the role of being the ongoing W9 SOTA contact. With my work & personal schedule people would have to wait too long for a reply. If you are interested I am good at “k9zw at arrl dot net” to start our discussion.

More once I get my desk dug out from travels!

73

Steve]
K9ZW

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

