When the Loon calls! Autumn Station Work

Where did summer go? Even Autumn is racing to be done.

And now it is my race to get outside station work tidy before the cold settles in.

As my shack is set up so I can see one of our fireplaces; we’ve put in a couple full cords of firewood to enjoy over the winter.

I’m also doing a large Autumn Clean of the shack and trying to move in a second operating bench so I can have my main gear on one, and a second “Experimenter’s bench” for projects.

I’ve also made a commitment to NOT buy too many new projects until I get everything started finished, and start whittling down the excess. Wish me luck!

I’ve been challenged to do some Ice Fishing Radio Work this winter, so I am doing some thinking on how to pull that off.

Another day I should have the garden done for the year, and I have a 160 ft hardline run I want to trench in while the ground is wet but not frozen.

Here in Wisconsin one of the privileges is to occasionally hear the plaintiff call of the Loon, a sound that reminds one of the simplicity of timeless nature. It is also the call of the wild, signaling the importance & unstoppability of Nature.

Well I’ve heard the call and it is time to get it ready for Winter!

73

Steve
K9ZW

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

