Hitch Up the Horses, We’re Heading to the Dayton Hamvention

Hitch Up the Horses, We’re Heading to the Dayton Hamvention.

The Suburban has been serviced, fueled and loaded.

Paperwork is in hand.

Even have a stack of Quarters, Dimes & Nickels for the Tri-State Tollway shakedown.

Riding shotgun this year is my eldest son, Tom KC9GJD, a Chemical Engineering Student and Army ROTC Cadet. Almost wish I had something major to buy to put his imposing “bodyguard look” to good use. Guess he can guard the books I’ll buy!

We’re both attending Contest University and several dinners. Tom may take a poke at sitting his license upgrade (he doesn’t realize yet that I have the study material loaded on an iPod to listen to on the way!!).

If time allows I might get a chance to look at horns at Woodwind & Brasswinds on the way.

Have several groups and individuals we hope to meet with while in Dayton, including some of my relatives who live in the Dayton area & who are also Radio Amateurs.

73

Steve
K9ZW

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Hitch Up the Horses, We’re Heading to the Dayton Hamvention

  1. AD7MI says:

    Sounds like you guys are going to have a blast! I am curious to get your impressions of Contest Univ. I applaud your anti-Twitter stance, but if you see the guy walking around with the webcam helmet, make sure you wave.

    I hope you guys have a safe trip and I look forward to reading about your experiences at the ultimate hamfest.

    73 Scott AD7MI

    • k9zw says:

      Thank you Scott AD7MI

      Any chance you’ll make it? Have a young man who would enjoy meeting you (Tom KC9JGD just finished his MS1 year as Army ROTC First Arctic Training Battalion).

      73

      Steve
      K9ZW

  2. Kelly Martin says:

    Not going myself, but please feel free to say hi on W9DUP 145.43- PL 107.2 as you’re working your way through the “Tri-State Tollway” shakedown.

    Kelly AB9RF

    • k9zw says:

      Not going myself, but please feel free to say hi on W9DUP 145.43- PL 107.2 as you’re working your way through the “Tri-State Tollway” shakedown.

      As a comparative “Country Mouse” in “City Mouse” traffic I’ve never been willing to even glance down to find the microphone in “mega-traffic.” Will try this time though, tasking my son to handle radios!

      73

      Steve
      K9ZW

  3. AD7MI says:

    Steve – I’d wish I could go, I’d enjoy meeting you and Tom in person. However, with our 2 week old baby (and not to mention the 3yr old) I think the XYL would probably have all my stuff out on the lawn when I got back :-) I really wanted to go this year (I’ve never been) and was also trying to get my dad in California to come to… but the timing is bad. I hope I can get the trip in next year. I will be PCSing from Kansas next May to who knows where. I will be getting together with my dad for Field Day this year out in California. That is going to be a blast!

    Again – I hope you and Tom have a wonderful trip and I look forward to your write up. I’d also be curious to get Tom’s impressions of Dayton as well…. maybe he can submit a guest blog entry? Don’t forget a some pictures.

Leave a Reply

