Thoughts on Logging QSOs

Logging is a huge area of personal preference.

Here is what I am doing:

Home Station – typical ragchew/DX: Direct into MixW (which acts as my “master log file”) – all contacts also logged to eQSL as a backup, and LoTW when I get around to it.

Home Station – Contest: Direct into MixW which I set into Contest Mode (which acts as my “master log file”), then I also keep my own Log onto Paper Log Sheets – all contacts also logged to eQSL as a backup as a BATCH after the contest, and LoTW when I get around to it.

At Guest Stations – typical ragchew/DX: Log onto Paper Log Sheets, which I enter afterwards into jLog (A Java logger) to produce an adif file to import later into MixW I will do the jLog prep daily if I have a chance, sometimes it waits until my return home.

At Guest Stations – Contesting: Log into whatever the host uses on computer and then I also keep my own Log onto Paper Log Sheets, which I enter afterwards into jLog (A Java logger) to produce an adif file to import later into MixW. I will do the jLog prep daily if I have a chance, sometimes it waits until my return home.

Mobile/Portable: Log onto Paper Log Sheets, which I enter afterwards into jLog (A Java logger) to produce an adif file to import later into MixW. I will do the jLog prep daily if I have a chance, sometimes it waits until my return home.

I expect I make it more complicated than it really needs to be.

73

Steve
K9ZW

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

