Added 6m Amp to the Shack – Lou W1QJ King QRO Conversions

Just delivered to the K9ZW shack is one of Lou W1QJ’s 6 meter QRO Conversion Amps.

Starting as a Heath SB-220 this HF Amp has been extensively modified to add the Amateur 6 meter band.

Hi Steve, ….., I have one more order to fill before I get around to converting an Sb-220 for you. But, you will be next in line. Now lets talk about color. For the most part I keep the amp it’s original colors. When I say I “repaint” I mean that if the outer cabinet needs refinishing, I repaint it so it looks new. I use paint I had professionally mixed to match the original color. I do not repaint the front panel, but I do customize it. The color remains the same. I could always paint the outer cover black for you, but I doubt it would look good with the green front panel. The outer cover color goes well with the green face. I try not to get too involved with painting etc. which is not my expertise. Basically what I “sell” is power on 6 meters. I customize the front panel so it indicates it is a 6 meter amplifier to set it apart from the “run of the mill” HF SB-220. I try to concentrate my efforts on building a good solid powerful 6 meter amp at a reasonable price, doing what I do to the outer cabinet and face plate fits into the price. If I did much more painting etc. I could not keep the price down. I have offered to leave the SB-220 looking stock, but everyone likes the customized version so it identifies itself as a 6 meter amp. As a result I do this treatment to all of the amps. …..

Thanks 73 Lou W1QJ

Should have this amp up and running over the holidays, now that it has arrived.

More to follow!

73

Steve
K9ZW

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

