Solid Re-Flex – New Flex-Radio Flex-5000A

As many of you knew my first Flex-5000A arrived with the serious sound of hardware tumbling inside it when first unpacked.  Flex-Radio felt it was better that it be shipped back, and supplied another Flex-5000A, one that they had been running on the bench.

Setting up everything wasn’t hard, though I did have to uninstall and reinstall the Flex-Radio software to get it to recognize the replacement radio.

This time a Quick Start-Up Guide was included and the full manual I had purchased from Manualman was on hand.

Took a few moments and I was in QSO with PZ5Z, operator Steve, running split 14.251/14.256 at 250 watts through the Alpha-78.  

Have a lot of reading and setting up to do, and I have to get the hang of the tuning – it appears quite different in concept to the TenTec & N4PY software I have been running to control Pegasus and Jupiter rigs for several years.

More once I get my manual read, work on the settings and get some time on the air!

73

Steve
K9ZW

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

