Dayton Hamvention 2008 Follow-Up Report No. 7 – Contest University

(Note – I am not releasing these in exact order – there are 20 in the series though)

With George W9EVT I attended Contest University’s “Alumni Session” on Thursday before the Hamvention.

CU this year had “The Book” which very nicely had the Powerpoint slides from presentations.  It was also a great place to make notes!
I found the Material was somewhat overlapping with last year (which makes sense) but also was extension of the grounding gained in the 2007 session.

The content is very High Value for me, given the limited number of active contesters in my area.  Through the 2007 and 2008 material I feel I have been able to leap-frog ahead in my understanding of best operating practices, best station design and the nitty-gritty of contesting.  

The instructors were great, the fellow students outstanding folk and the effort to attend Contest University well worth it to me.

Looking forward to the third year session in 2009!

73

Steve
K9ZW

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Dayton Hamvention 2008 Follow-Up Report No. 7 – Contest University

  1. Scot, K9JY says:

    I think Contest University is one of the best additions to Dayton I’ve seen in a long time. It extends the reasons for going there, it is a learning experience and it doesn’t interfere with the Hamvention proper (although the Hamvention people should sponsor it to get dollars in the door…).

    It is great they have now extended this into a second year.

Leave a Reply

