jump to navigation

How about some Slow Speed CW Nets that you can work? 12 - April - 2010

Posted by k9zw in Amateur Radio.
trackback

There is such a thing as a “Slow Speed” CW Net, where the pace is kept down enough for mere mortals to step to the affray!

Fists publishes a list: http://www.fists.org/slownet.pdf

There are a couple really good eBooks available to download (free!) on CW

The Art & Skill of Radio Telegraphy – A Manual For Learning, Using, Mastering And Enjoying The International Morse Code As A Means Of Communication by William G. Pierpont N0HFF

http://www.qsl.net/n9bor/n0hff.htm

And Carlo IK0YGJ’s eBook “Zen and the Art of Radiotelegraphy”

http://www.qsl.net/ik0ygj/enu/index.html

I’ll make no bones about how I am rebuilding CW skills from just above zero CW ability. Though I passed the Novice CW exam a bit over 20 years ago, I think I managed to log only two CW QSOs.

I’m using Learn CW Online at http://lcwo.net/ and a version of Carlo IK0YGJ’s book tailored to the CW training device I am using.

Perhaps soon I will “re-graduate” to logging CW QSOs on the air! Hope to see you there!

73

Steve
K9ZW

Comments»

1. Harlan - 19 - April - 2012

Thanks Steve. I’ve been thinking about getting back into ham radio. Now that I have time, maybe I can get serious about CW.

Harlan (ex- WB4FYC Technician Class)

w6bky - 23 - April - 2012

Steve,

Ran across your post about a slow speed CW net, and have a couple of thoughts to offer . . .

Taught CW for several years, and also ran a slow speed net that no longer exists. Don’t know how serious you are about doing CW, but if you are r.e.a.l.l.y interested in having conversations via CW on the air, you need to be able to copy at least 20 wpm.

That’s why I always taught CW at 20 wpm. I found it was just as easy (or just as difficult, depending upon one’s point of view) for students to learn at 20 as to learn at 10, or less, wpm.

If you learn and/or practice at, say 10 wpm, going to 20 will be almost like learning it all over again .

It is always relatively easy to slow down to five or ten wpm, but virtually impossible for someone who can copy at 10, or so, wpm to simply “jump” to 20.

Be that as it may, use whatever method is comfortable for YOU, and perhaps we can have a QSO some time.

Don’t spend much time on the air these days. When I am on the air, it is usually on 20 or 40 meters (CW, of course!).

If, by chance, you want to know more about me in general, and about my Ham Radio activities in particular, simply Google w6bky, then browse through the many pages you will find there.

73, and good luck with CW.

Dick, W6BKY w6bky1@gmail.com


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 741 other followers

