jump to navigation

Going Back in Time – “Time Machine” on the Macbook 30 - October - 2007

Posted by k9zw in The Rambling Series.
Tags: , ,
trackback

The OS-X Leopard Time Machine Browser

A quick jot about the impressions of the Time Machine feature of OS-X 10.5 Leopard.

Apple has given me the tools to dissect my computing. 

  1. OS-X “Spaces” gives me the Linux-Like multiple desktops open for one user.
  2. Bootcamp” gives me the OS-X or Windows choice.
  3. and “Time Machine” gives me the dimension of being able to work with a file in its various past incarnations.

So my computing options are like a 3-D matrix – easy navigation through which Operating System, which Work Space and which point in time Back & Forth through Time Machine.

And most importantly after blowing up a couple hard disks is the full backup that resides on my Time Machine serviced External Drive.

Pretty neat options and rather well implemented.

73

Steve
K9ZW

Comments»

1. First Use of TimeMachine - This Rules! « With Varying Frequency - Amateur Radio Ponderings - 5 - December - 2007

[...] 5 – December – 2007 · No Comments Ok where did those 43 emails containing notes and article write-up outlines & stubs go to? I know I wasn’t at my best when I was trying to move them to their own folder last night…. but it turns out I managed to close OS-X Mail without pasting them anywhere!Essentially I Cut them and Dropped them in electronic ether…. bad move. They disappeared.Forty-Three articles in the making zapped by significant user error… or perhaps not?Enter OS-X 10.5’s TimeMachine Backup system.Painless to roll back to before I messed up.Simple to select the messages needed, and Clicked to Restore them.A bit of whirl and screens moving before the restored messages were restored to a special “Timemachine Restored Messages” folder.Check out my previous posting on Timemachine for more details!http://k9zw.wordpress.com/2007/10/30/time-machine-on-macbook/73SteveK9ZW [...]

2. Deja Vu OS-X Style - Timemachine Revisited « With Varying Frequency - Amateur Radio Ponderings - 15 - January - 2008

[...] Going Back in Time – “Time Machine” on the Macbook [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 685 other followers

