jump to navigation

Fishbone Aluminum Wedges – Tennadyne Log Periodic Anntenas in Action 31 - January - 2007

Posted by k9zw in Amateur Radio, K9ZW Shack.
trackback

When faced with the decisions on what antennas to install I had a number of things to weigh up:

  • Cost was a consideration
  • Directionality a strong desire
  • Gain a consideration
  • QRO (Higher Power) Capability desired
  • and the big issue – boom & swinging radius a concern
  • The recommendations I was soliciting from other Amateurs led to a wonderful short list of possible antennas, but simple availability first led me to consider the Tennadyne Log Periodic Antenna .

    One of our club retired members had become infirm and wanted someone to buy & take down his antenna & tower. This fellow has a past history of Elmering me in his profession when I was just out of high school, and I made him an offer & worked the deal out of respect for him. I figured I could help him out and either use or trade the tower & antenna for part of what I wanted.

    In the deal I ended up with his year old Tennadyne T-8.

    The short list of antennas I had was huge. I had been offered a very large Mosley 96x but found that it would swing off my property due to tower location.

    With this antenna & that antenna being set aside as too expensive, too big, too long of a wait or for concerns over performance, the research on the Tennadyne T-8 lead to my determination to put it up and see how it works!

    Wanting to have a directional 2m/440cm antenna, I purchased a Tennadyne T-28 (Original Model) which is a 6m to 1.3gHz Log Periodic, and stacked it 11 ft above the T-8.

    Here is the installation (before cables were installed):

    Stacked Logs at K9ZW

    To date I’ve worked 98% of the time with the T-8. I’ve found it’s performance to be much better than I had imagined. Side and back singal rejection is impressive, allowing my listening to focus in the direction the antenna is pointed.

    The measured Standing Wave Ratio (SWR) is 1:1.25 or better across the T-8’s advertised range of 20m to 10m.

    Received signal reports have been excellent, with how many dB over 5-9 usually the only number that changes by the QSO!!

    Listening is exceptional in the direction of the antenna’s focus, though of course it is not Omni Directional in listening. In some situations the T-8 may be well suited to being paired with a “listening antenna”.

    The little bit of experimentation I’ve done with the T-28 has shown great promise for this smaller log periodic, and I am looking forward to putting it to the test down the log.

    It goes without saying that I would highly recommend the T-8. Simple, cost effective, Mil-Spec style build, and great performance make it an antenna worth looking at!

    73

    Steve
    K9ZW

    Comments»

    1. Bushyetdah - 2 - May - 2008

    How about T-28 test result? I will buy this one if the result is good.

    2. k9zw - 2 - May - 2008

    I’ve used the T-28 much less than the T-8. It has performed quite well, but I have not exhaustively tested it. Perhaps have a look at the reviews on eHam for more opinions if you are not sure the T-28 will fit your needs.

    73

    Steve
    K9ZW

    Don Boyer - 25 - February - 2010

    Hello Steve,
    I’m thinking about buying a T28. For HF, I have the older Tennadyne T7 and T5 and they work very well for me. Have you used the T28 on 6, 2, or 432 mhz ? I can’t find many user reports on this antenna. I would appreciate any comments you might have pertaining to your particular operation of this antenna. Of course elevation and terrain are a huge factor.
    Thank you, Steve,
    Best 73,
    Don, K3OP

    3. k9zw - 25 - February - 2010

    Hi Don K3OP

    I’ve used the T28 on 6m and 2m mostly. I’ve found it has the same directionality of the T8 and performed very well for me.

    I’ve used it in conjunction with a J-pole on 2m & 70cm, switching to the J-pole for it omni-pattern to listen and then to the T28 for its directionality to complete the QSO.

    Lacking another similar class antenna it would be unfair for me to make any comment if the T28 would be better or worse than Brand-X, Y or Z.

    That said, would I buy another T28 and put it in the same configuration? Yes.

    Hope this has been of help!

    73

    Steve
    K9ZW

    4. Rudy WD4AB - 13 - February - 2011

    Have you worked any weak signal dx on 144 or 432mhz with the T28?

    k9zw - 13 - February - 2011

    Hi Rudy

    I presently lack an appropriate preamp & transceiver for this.

    Down the road I hope to give it a try.

    73

    Steve
    K9ZW


    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 740 other followers

